Thursday, 28 July 2011

The Duke & The King New Album on August 16

Critically heralded soul-folk-glam ensemble The Duke & The King has confirmed the August 16 release of their self-titled new album on So Recordings. Formed in New York by acclaimed musician-writer Simone Felice, previously a key songwriter and founding member of celebrated country rock outfit The Felice Brothers, The Duke & The King are a potent vocal group created by Felice and Robert Bird Burke featuring Simi Stone and Nowell “The Deacon” Haskins.

Named after the traveling Shakespearean troupe in Mark Twain’s classic “The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn,” The Duke & The King create a rollicking undeniably soulful sound in the vein of classic songwriters from James Taylor to Rolling Thunder Review, Fleetwood Mac and Sly & The Family Stone, while adding a distinctly personal touch with Felice’s affecting narratives. It is a quality which inspired the BBC to compare his songwriting to Leonard Cohen and Bob Dylan.

The band’s upcoming release is a collection of songs culled from the group’s two previous English albums, not available in the U.S. Both records have received unanimously enthusiastic reviews from the British press.

No comments: