Wednesday, 25 May 2011

Paul Dempsey Releases US Solo Debut

Paul Dempsey will officially release his solo debut Everything Is True in the US through Missing Piece on June 28. The US release includes a new bonus track “We’ll Never Work In This Town Again,” which provides the capstone to a fantastic solo debut of songs that have been favorably compared to those of Bruce Springsteen and Elliott Smith.

Dempsey is best known for his work as principal songwriter, lead singer and guitarist in Something For Kate, one of the most respected and successful Australian bands to emerge over the past decade. Having released five platinum and gold albums to date with Something for Kate, amassing a staggering 16 Australian Record Industry Award nominations, multiple Rolling Stone gongs for best band, best album and best male vocalist along with countless sold out tours with everyone from David Bowie to Death Cab for Cutie, Dempsey decided to step out on his own to release his first solo album.

Playing every instrument himself, Everything Is True was co-produced by Dempsey and Wayne Connolly, mixed by Doug Bohem and released to an overwhelming response, garnering Dempsey multiple awards and nominations from ARIA, Rolling Stone, Triple J, The Age, while debuting in the Top 5 and having since achieved gold status.

A departure from his work with Something for Kate, Everything is True is an intimate and beautiful collection of evocative and cerebral folk-rock showcasing Dempsey’s unique and multi-layered storytelling skills. From the delicate falsetto peaks of album opener “Bats” to the Dylanesque barroom proclamations of “Safety in Numbness,” this is a deeply intelligent record with a big heart.

Bats from Paul Dempsey on Vimeo.

Do check out more of Dempsey's videos on his website.

No comments: