Tuesday, 28 June 2011

Bon Iver - Bon Iver

American indie folk group Bon Iver recently released their second full length titled Bon Iver released on Jagjaguwar.

The eponymous album is by far the greatest release they ever presented - filled with soulful characteristics and rich in melodic charms.

Bon Iver is the frozen beast pressing upward from a loosening earth, one ear cocked to the echo of the ghost choir still singing, the other craving the martial call of drums tumbling, of thrum and wheeze. The desolation smoke has dissipated, cut with strips of brass. Celebration will not be denied, the cabinet cannot contain the rattle, there is meat on the bones.

"Bon Iver is often equated with just me," says frontman Justin Vernon, "but you are who surrounds you, and for Bon Iver, Bon Iver I wanted to invite those voices as musical catalysts." Thus on the track "Beth/Rest" and throughout the album, we hear the pedal steel of Greg Leisz, the uniquely layered low end of Colin Stetson's saxophones, the riffing of Mike Lewis' altos and tenors, and the lush horns of C.J. Camerieri. Bon Iver regulars Sean Carey, Mike Noyce and Matt McCaughan contributed vocals, drums and production, Rob Moose helped with arranging and added strings, and fellow members of Volcano Choir, Jim Schoenecker and Tom Wincek provided processing.

No comments: